Modi’s Cabinet 2014: Compact, Comprehensive, Comendable

Posted : May 26, 2014 at 11:26 pm IST by ManaTeluguMovies
As reported earlier, India’s 15th Prime Minister Narendra Modi has came up with “Minimum Government and Maximum Governance”. Modi has sharply cut short the number of Cabinet berths so that to reduce burden on public exchequer and to focus more on public-issues. Modi confined to just 45 members in his compact cabinet which is exactly half of outgoing UPA-II. Below is the list of 23 Ministers and corresponding portfolios, 10 MoS with Independent charge and 11 MoS.

Cabinet Ministers & Portfolios

  • Narendra Modi: Prime Minister
  • Rajnath Singh: Home Minister
  • Arun Jaitley: Finance & Defence Minister
  • Sushma Swaraj: Ministry of External Affairs
  • Nitin Gadkari: Surface Transport and Shipping Minister
  • Venkaiaha Naidu: Urban Development, Parliamentary Affairs
  • Ananth Kumar: Chemical & Fertilizers
  • Ravi Shankar Prasad: Law & Telecom
  • Menaka Gandhi: Women and Child Welfare
  • Harsha Vardhan: Health Minister
  • Sadananda Gowda: Railways Minister
  • Gopinath Munde: Rural Development
  • Uma Bharati: Water Resources and Ganga Cleaning
  • Smriti Irani: Human & Resource Development
  • Prakash Javadekar: I&B, Environment
  • Ram Vilas Paswan: Food & Civil Supplies
  • Najma Heptulla: Minority Affairs Minister
  • Radha Mohan Singh: Agricultural Minister
  • Jual Oram: Tribal Minister
  • Kalraj Mishra: Micro, Medium Industries
  • Harismrat Kaur: Food Processing


  • Nirmala Sitaraman: (Commerce)
  • Piyush Goyal (Power and Coal)
  • VK Singh (Independent Charge)
  • Shirp Ad Naik (Independent Charge)
  • Sudarshan Bhagat
  • Kiren Rijju
  • Radhakrishnan
  • Sanjeev Kumar Balyan