Who will remain with Jagan?

Posted : October 29, 2014 at 3:29 pm IST by ManaTeluguMovies


A day after founding member of YSR Congress party and former minister Konathala Ramakrishna called it quits, tremors have hit the beleaguered Opposition. The ‘underlying’ dissent within its leaders, MLAs and MPs seems to be coming out and sending a strong message that many others are likely to follow the suit. According to highly reliable sources, Nellore MP Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy, Atmakur MLA Mekapati Goutham Reddy and Bapatla MLA Kona Raghu have set ground to quit YSRCP and join BJP which will be a major jolt to YS Jagan and his party.

Ever since Jagan floated YSR Congress Party on a plank to take reigns of CM post, several senior leaders have joined and subsequently walked out of party. The list very long and big. It includes Raghuram Krishnam Raju, Sabbam Hari, Nandyal MP SPY Reddy, Dhadi Veerabhadra Rao, Jupudi Prabhakar Rao, Gadde Babu Rao, Konathala Ramakrishna have already left party. Now reports are rife that 2 more MPs and 2 MLAs are going to say bid adieu to party. Araku MP Kothapalli Geetha who has been voicing against Jagan, may also soon ditch Jagan taking queue from the likes of Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy.

Buzz is that senior leaders Tammineni Seetharam and Jyothula Nehura too mulling over to switch party soon. The situation is no different in Telangana as well. Although the party almost became zero even before elections and senior leaders like Konda Surekha have quit before elections, remaining very few leaders too called it quits recently. PJR’s daughter Vijaya Reddy, former DGP Dinesh Reddy, Wyra MLA Madan lal have all ditched Jagan and joined other parties. Though Jagan recently bring back his sister Sharmila and made her president of YSR Congress party for Telangana, the response is negligible.

Although Jagan-led YSRCP managed to win in 67 Assembly constituencies in its maiden election, Jagan’s “lack of leadership”, “poor visionary”, “head-strong attitude” and alleged “disrespect” towards seniors seems to have costed the party dearly. While the party almost wiped out in Telangana, its heading towards a crisis in Seemandhra. Notwithstanding Jagan’s initiation of damage-control measures in the eleventh hour, party leaders, MLAs and MPs are not in a mood to heed to Jagan’s plea. “Ripples have already started within YCP in North Coastal Andhra, South Coastal Andhra and soon expected to hit Rayalaseema as well. YCP is a sinking ship, “shared a senior political analyst.

All these put together raising a set of questions: Who will remain in YSR Congress Party? Who will remain and support Jagan? Who will sail with Jagan in future? Only time will tell. Let’s wait and watch whether Jagan survives this or not.