B’day Gift: Bengaluru replaces Bangalore

Posted : November 1, 2014 at 2:43 pm IST by ManaTeluguMovies


From this Saturday (Nov 1, 2014), Bangalore has been officially renamed as “Bengaluru” and Mysore has been renamed as “Mysuru”. However, if you’re wondering why this sudden change in names, it’s the “birthday gift” to the state from Centre.

After 9-long years, the Union Government has given clearance to the change of name to the capital of Karnataka which turns 68 on Saturday. The state had sought Centre’s clearance for the change in names way back in 2006 when UPA I was in regime. BJP at the Centre has finally given clearance.

The change of name is not just limited to Bengaluru and Mysuru. 12 of Karnataka’s major towns and cities will be revert to their old Kannada names after the Union Home Ministry this month cleared a proposal made by the state nine years ago.  The other cities that formally get new old names from today are: Belgaum – Belagavi, Mangalore – Mangaluru, Gulbarga – Kalaburagi, Hubli – Hubballi, Shimoga – Shivamogga, Chikmagalur – Chikkamagaluru, Bellary – Ballari, Bijapur – Vijapura or Vijayapura, Hospet – Hosapete, Tumkur – Tumakuru.