3 Mega and 14 Smart Cities in AP

Posted : June 13, 2014 at 6:18 pm IST by ManaTeluguMovies


Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu is currently working on the action plan to come up with about 3 Mega Cities and 14 Smart Cities in the new state.

Apparently, Vizag, Vijayawada and Tirupati will be developed as Mega Cities. This means each of the regions (Uttar Andhra [Visakha, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam), Remaining 6 Coastal Districts [East, West, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam, Nellore] and Rayalseema [Chittoor, Kurnool, Anantapur, Kadapa) will have a Mega city each!  On the other hand, Towns under 14 Municipal Corporations will be converted into Smart Cities.

Naidu informed Andhra Pradesh have a deficit of Rs 15,900 crore post bifurcation and around Rs 4-5 lakh crore will be required to build a new capital. He said a special package and extension of special category status from 5 to 15 years will be seeked from Centre.